Highway Department

Highways and bridges in Jackson County are under the jurisdiction of several governmental units: the Illinois Department of Transportation, the Jackson County Department of Highways, the Township Highway Districts, Municipalities, and other state and federal agencies.

The Jackson County Highway Department is responsible for 152 miles of highways and 52 bridges on its system of roads.

Administration, design, construction, and maintenance are the primary responsibilities of the department. Maintenance includes snow and ice control, pothole and surface repair, mowing, traffic control signs and lights, and drainage control of all county roads.

If you have any concerns or requests about a particular highway, please Report a Road Problem.