Highways and bridges in Jackson County are under the jurisdiction of several governmental units: the  Illinois Department of Transportation, the Jackson County Department of Highways, the Township Highway Districts, Municipalities and other state and federal agencies.

The Jackson County Highway Department is responsible for 152 miles of highways and 52 bridges on its system of roads.

Administration, design, construction and maintenance are the primary responsibilities of the department. Maintenance includes snow and ice control, pothole and surface repair, mowing, traffic control signs and lights, and drainage control of all county roads.

When relaying concerns or requests about a particular highway, please contact the appropriate authority. Our downloadable road/bridge complaint form may be used.

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer