County Board Appointed Vacancies

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Jackson County Board is seeking qualified candidates to serve on boards to which they make appointments. Jackson County residents interested in putting their talents to work for the benefit of the County may find more information here or by calling the Jackson County Board office at 618/687-7240.

Download the Resume for County Board Appointment form to apply for an opening.  Please send completed applications to the Jackson County Board Office, attn: Committee Coordinator.  Resumes are reviewed by the Executive Committee on the first Thursday of each month.  Applicants are notified as to when their resume will be reviewed, and their presence at the review is often requested.

Download the Legislative Appointment Handbook to receive more information on a specific board or agency.  If you have any further questions, please contact the Committee Coordinator at 618-687-7245.

Shawnee Resource Conservation & Development Area

  • Type:Volunteer
  • Salary/Pay Rate:n/a
  • Posted Date:01/03/2018
Purpose: The Shawnee RC&D Area, Inc. is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization serving the southern 
16 counties of Illinois. Our mission is to provide local leadership and the framework required to develop and carry out a plan of action for the conservation, development, and wise use of the resources within the RC&D area. 
The goals of the Shawnee RC&D Area can be accomplished through improving the following: 
agriculture, industry, recreation, education, culture, health, and the environment. The Shawnee 
RC&D Area is composed of Zone 1 (Pope, Hardin, Saline, Gallatin); Zone 2 (Alexander, Pulaski, 
Massac, Johnson); Zone 3 (Union, Jackson, Williamson, Perry); Zone 4 (White, Hamilton, Franklin, 
Jefferson). Participating Soil and Water Conservation Districts   (SWCD) are Franklin, Gallatin, 
Hamilton, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Massac, Perry, Pope-Hardin, Pulaski-Alexander, Saline, 
Union, White, and Williamson. Participating County Governments are Alexander, Franklin, Gallatin, 
Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Massac, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Saline, Union, White, 
and Williamson. Participating River Conservancy Districts are Bay Creek, Bonpas, Kinkaid-Reed’s 
Creek, Lusk Creek, and Saline Valley.

Members: The Shawnee RC&D Area, Inc. Council shall be comprised of not less than 12 members.

Conditions on Membership: There will be three members from each of the county zones. Additional 
members at large may be added.

Meetings: Meetings are held four times a year, with the exception of the Fall. Meetings are held 
every three months on the third week of the month, on Tuesday at 6 pm. The meeting place is the 
USDA Extension Branch Office (Williamson County) at
201-B W Main, Marion, IL 62959

Terms: Members shall be nominated by the Executive Committee and confirmed by the Council. Terms 
will be for 3 years and will be staggered within the county zones. Members may be reappointed. 
Members missing 3 consecutive meetings or 3 meetings in one year shall be contacted by the 
Chairperson as to their availability to serve the remainder of their term. They may be removed
upon a majority vote of the Council.
Return to full list >>