County Board Appointed Vacancies

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Jackson County Board is seeking qualified candidates to serve on boards to which they make appointments. Jackson County residents interested in putting their talents to work for the benefit of the County may find more information here or by calling the Jackson County Board office at 618/687-7240.

Download the Resume for County Board Appointment form to apply for an opening.  Please send completed applications to the Jackson County Board Office, attn: Committee Coordinator.  Resumes are reviewed by the Executive Committee on the first Thursday of each month.  Applicants are notified as to when their resume will be reviewed, and their presence at the review is often requested.

Download the Legislative Appointment Handbook to receive more information on a specific board or agency.  If you have any further questions, please contact the Committee Coordinator at 618-687-7245.

Greater Egypt RPDC

  • Type:Volunteer
  • Salary/Pay Rate:N/A
  • Posted Date:12/01/2019

Purpose:  The Greater Egypt Regional Planning and Development Commission (Greater Egypt) has been serving southern Illinois communities, citizens, businesses, and local governments since 1961.  Within the five counties of Franklin, Jackson, Jefferson, Perry, and Williamson, Greater Egypt provides economic development planning and assistance, water quality management planning, local government services, technical assistance, and provides administrative services for local, state, and Federal programs such as: Economic Development Administration grants, Delta Regional Authority grants, Energy Efficiency Conservation Block Grant, Community Development Assistance Program, Enterprise Zone, and administers a Revolving Loan Fund.  The staff consists of an interdisciplinary team coordinated by the Executive Director. Together they carry out the planning and development activities of the Commission.  Examples of the typical services provided by Greater Egypt are detailed below.

  • Economic Development Planning and Assistance — Greater Egypt serves as the Region’s Economic Development District for the federal Economic Development Administration and the Local Development District for the Delta Regional Authority. Greater Egypt utilizes funds made available by the member local governments and EDA to complete an ongoing Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy. Funds from EDA and DRA also allow Greater Egypt to work within the region to develop economic development projects and seek funds for their implementation. Greater Egypt also administers an EDA Revolving Loan Fund to provide financial assistance to local business.
  • Grant Administration — Greater Egypt provides grant administration for entities within the District for local, state, and federal programs such as: Economic Development Administration grants, Delta Regional Authority grants, Energy Efficiency Conservancy Block Grants, and the Community Development Assistance Program.
  • Water Quality Management Planning – Greater Egypt is contracted by the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency to develop a Watershed-based Plan for Hurricane Creek Watershed in Williamson County.The plan will consist of a comprehensive watershed inventory which will define the physical components of the Watershed.This will be used to complement the watershed-based plan which will address water quality issues within the watershed.Greater Egypt is also under contract with IEPA to coordinate the Volunteer Lake Monitoring Program (VLMP) in the southern tip of Illinois:Alexander, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Massac, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Saline, Union, and Williamson Counties.The VLMP serves as an educational program for citizens to learn about lake ecosystems, as well as a cost-effective method of gathering fundamental information on Illinois’ inland lakes.
  • Transportation Planning – Greater Egypt helped to establish the Southern Illinois Metropolitan Planning Organization in 2013 to serve the newly designated Carbondale Urbanized Area.Currently Greater Egypt serves as the Lead Agency and staff for the SIMPO.
  • Multi-Hazard Mitigation Planning — Greater Egypt provides assistance to the local governments to complete Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plans. These plans are then used by the region to implement projects designed to minimize the loss of property and life in the event of a natural disaster. Greater Egypt assists organizations in the region with applications for funding hazard mitigation projects.
  • Technical Assistance — Greater Egypt provides a wide variety to technical assistance services. These services include demographic data collection and distribution, GIS mapping, and identifying and assisting with grant opportunities.
  • Local Government Services — Greater Egypt also provides specific services to the local governments. An example of these services is the administration of the Williamson County Enterprise Zone and assistance with the administration of the Jackson County Enterprise Zone.


Members:  Jackson County holds four seats on the Commission.  All members of the Commission shall serve without compensation; however, the Commission has a policy to reimburse those members not otherwise reimbursed for mileage to and from Official Commission meetings.


Conditions on Membership:  These seats consist of the Jackson County Board Chairman or his/her designee, and three others.  The Chairman of each County Board shall designate, subject to confirmation of the county Board, three members who shall be residents of said County. 


Meetings:  The Commission meets on the second Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m.  The Commission generally meets at their Marion office, with five meetings at different locations within the region.


Terms:  The three appointed hold a three year term.  Terms of office shall begin on January 1.  The terms of all existing members shall be extended to expire on the 31st day of December in the calendar year in which they would otherwise expire.  The Chairman, or his/her written designee, of the county Board shall have a term coterminous with his/her term of office as such chairman. 

Return to full list >>