• courthouse
  • rehab
  • health
  • ambulancec
  • sheriff
  • highway
  • highwaygarage
  • ambulancem
  • ambulancea

The County Board consists of fourteen members that are elected from seven districts and govern the county in accordance with formal bylaws and state statute. The Board meets to administer county activities and enact ordinances and resolutions into law.

The full meeting of the County Board is held on the third Tuesday of each month at 6 p.m. in the courthouse, 2nd floor courtroom 1 . Nearly all of the detailed work of the board is conducted in standing committee meetings, the scheduling for which is published monthly on the web in the Board's monthly calendar.

The Board and its chairman, John Rendleman, along with board staff are responsible for overall fiscal management of all county operations. The Board's vice chair is Julie Peterson.

The Board provides funding for external agencies providing community health and social services.

The offices located in the courthouse observe the following holiday schedule.

Historic photos of Board members since 1972 are available online.

For more information about the County Board's functions, its committees, or meetings, call (618) 687-7240. Many of the duties and obligations of county government are stipulated via Chapter 55 of the Illinois statutes.


Contact Information


County Board Chairperson:
John S. Rendleman

County Board Vice-Chairperson:
Julie Peterson

County Board Office
Jackson County Courthouse
1001 Walnut Street
Murphysboro, IL 62966

(618) 687-7240

(618) 687-7271

Office Hours:
8 a.m. - 4 p.m.
Monday - Friday

County Events

Thu Dec 03 @ 5:00PM -
Executive Committee
Mon Dec 07 @ 5:00PM -
Finance & Administration
Tue Dec 08 @ 5:00PM -
Real Property
Wed Dec 09 @ 5:00PM -
Legislative & Public Safety
Thu Dec 10 @ 5:00PM -
Liquor Advisory Board