You may obtain certified copies of your own or your children's birth certificate at the County Clerk and Recorder's office in the courthouse. The person whose birth certificate you wish a copy of must have been born in Jackson County. By state law, we may not release a copy of a minor child's birth certificate to a grandparent or step parent without written permission from a parent whose name appears on the birth certificate. A minor child may not obtain a copy of their birth certificate until the age of 18.
If you apply in person, please bring identification which includes a photograph of you (a driver's license or a passport, for example).
You may also apply for the certificate by mail. In your letter please state clearly the full name of the person whose certificate you wish a copy of, the mother's name, the father's name, and your relationship to that person. Enclose a photocopy of your State driver's license or identification card. Also, enclose a stamped, self-addressed envelope. Please keep in mind the limitations on who may legally obtain a person's certificate.
Birth certificates may also be obtained on line by using the Illinois Treasurer's e-pay system, there is a nominal fee charged by the Treasurer's Office for using this site.
The fee is $15.00 for the first certified copy and $2.00 for each additional copy of the same birth certificate at the same request.
Any person having genealogical, or property right interest may request a certified copy of a death certificate for any person. A fee of $19.00 is charged for the first copy and $6.00 for each additional copy.
The mailing address for requesting birth and death certificates is:
County Clerk's office, 1001 Walnut, Murphysboro, Illinois 62966-2194.
Checks or money orders should be made payable to Larry W. Reinhardt, Jackson County Clerk.
Additional information is available by telephone. Call the County Clerk at 618-687-7360.