Recording of Documents
This office accepts documents for recording upon the records of the county.
In accordance with Illinois statutes, Chapter 55 ILCS 5/3-5018, a fee is charged for document recording. The fee varies with type: standard vs. non-standard forms.
Standard forms are 8 1/2" x 11" and contain a 3" x 5" space in the upper right hand corner of the first page for the recorder's stamp. The fee for recording is $38.00 for up to four pages, and $1.00 additional for each subsequent page.
Non-standard forms are 8 1/2" x 14" or other size. The fee for recording is $50.00 for up to four pages, and $1.00 additional for each subsequent page.
- The grantee's address must appear on the face of all deeds for future payment of property taxes.
- A completed Real Estate Transfer Declaration form, PTAX-203 must accompany the deed, or an exemption certificate with proper letter of exemption, dated and signed, must be affixed to the deed. This form may be completed online and printed at your location by going to Interactive Property Deed Recording form.
- Transfer taxes must be purchased from this office at the time of recording.
- All Deeds must also include a Jackson County Plat Act Affidavit.
Plat Recording (Please provide one original and five copies.)
- $66.00, plus $1.00 per additional lot.
Survey Recording (Please provide one original and five copies.)
- $36.00 per survey.
Requests for Copies of Recorded Documents
This office does not perform property record searches for the public. You are welcome to visit the courthouse and perform your own search. If you know the document number or book & page number of the document desired, you may request delivery of a document by mail and avoid a visit to the courthouse. All requests for document copies must be made in person or by writing. Fax requests are not accepted. If writing to request copies, include the appropriate document information and enclose a fee of $0.50 per page. If you are unsure how many pages the document consists of, make a generous estimate and include enough funds to cover the likely number of pages. We will refund any over payments made. If you would like copies faxed to you, the fee is increased by $1.50 per document. All fees must be paid in advance.
Make your checks payable to and mail all documents and required notices to:
Jackson County Clerk and Recorder
Murphysboro, Illinois 62966-2194
Be sure to enclose a stamped, self-addressed envelope with your fee.
To Request Copies of birth, marriage, and death records click here.